fbpx

Things to do in Shropshire 2022

Shropshire families

I spend hours looking for new things to do in Shropshire. Before my little girl started school in September, we used to have girly Monday's and I started the list so that we would always have something new to do. The list grew and lots of people helped contribute more ideas so now we have a helpful list of places to visit with children around Shropshire.

Last year this list proved really popular, so I have produced one for this year too. As things slowly return to normality I'd encourage you to check whether booking is necessary. There are links to most on the blog page, with a handy printable PDF list which you can download at the bottom of the page and pop on the fridge to check them off as you go.

If you have any more suggestions, please let me know, and feel free to share this far and wide. Help the mummies and daddies that are in need of a new place to go after what has been a crazy 18 months!

Outdoor Walks-

Castel Dinas Bran- http://www.castlewales.com/dinas.html

Lyth Hill- http://www.shropshiresgreatoutdoors.co.uk/site/lyth-hill-countryside-site/

Rectory Wood (Church Stretton)- http://www.shropshiresgreatoutdoors.co.uk/route/discover-shropshire-family-friendly-rectory-wood-and-field/

Battlefield 1403 (Shrewsbury)- https://www.visitengland.com/experience/visit-battlefield-1403-site-battle-shrewsbury

Appley Woods (Telford)- http://www.apleywoods.co.uk/

Haughmond Hill including Zog activity trail (parking £)- https://www.forestryengland.uk/haughmond-hill

Wyre Forrest Wren Walking trail (parking £)- https://www.forestryengland.uk/wyre-forest/wren-walking-trail-wyre

Llangollen canal and the horsehoe falls- https://canalrivertrust.org.uk/enjoy-the-waterways/canal-and-river-network/llangollen-canal

Pontcysyllte aqueduct- https://www.pontcysyllte-aqueduct.co.uk/

Chirk aqueduct- https://www.shropshiretourism.co.uk/accomtracking.php?estid=1000856

Oswestry Hill Fort- http://www.shropshiresgreatoutdoors.co.uk/route/oswestry-hill-fort/

Telford Town Park (parking £)- http://www.telfordtownpark.co.uk/

Shrewsbury Quarry Park- https://originalshrewsbury.co.uk/visit/quarry-park

£ Hawkstone Park Follies- https://www.hawkstoneparkfollies.co.uk/

£ Weston Park, Shifnal - https://www.weston-park.com/

The Mere at Ellesmere- https://www.ellesmere.info/

Cae Glas Park (Oswestry)- https://www.oswestry-welshborders.org.uk/oswestry/cae-glas-park/

Seven Valley Country Park (Bridgnorth) - https://www.shropshiretourism.co.uk/heritage-and-historic-sites/severn-valley-country-park.html

Granville Country Park- https://www.shropshirewildlifetrust.org.uk/nature-reserves/granville-country-park

Nescliffe Country Park- http://www.shropshiresgreatoutdoors.co.uk/site/nesscliffe-hills-and-the-cliffe-countryside-heritage-site/

Mortimer Forest- https://www.forestryengland.uk/mortimer-forest

Clee Hills- https://www.visitshropshirehills.co.uk/shropshire-hills/the-clee-hills-and-the-corvedale/

Stiperstones National Nature Reserve -  http://www.shropshiresgreatoutdoors.co.uk/site/stiperstones-national-nature-reserve-nnr/

The Wrekin

Corbett Woods- http://www.shropshiresgreatoutdoors.co.uk/site/corbet-wood-countryside-heritage-site/

Splash Parks and Paddling Pools (free)-

Shrewsbury Quarry Splash Park

Telford Splash Park

Farms, Zoos and animal parks (free and £)-

£ Park Hall Farm (Oswestry)- https://www.parkhallfarm.co.uk/

£ Home Farm, Attingham (Shrewsbury)- http://www.homefarmattingham.co.uk/

£ Hoo Farm (Telford) - https://www.hoofarm.com/

£ Exotic Zoo (Telford)- https://exoticzoo.co.uk/

£ Acton Scott, working farm - https://www.actonscott.com/

Apley Farm Shop and (£) Scotty’s Animal Park- https://apleyfarmshop.co.uk/

£ Rays Farm (Bridgnorth)- https://raysfarm.com/

£ Fordhall farm (Market Drayton)- https://www.fordhallfarm.com/

£ Gentelshaw Wildlife Centre (Eccleshall) - http://www.gentleshawwildlife.co.uk/

National Trust- https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/days-out/regionmidlands/national-trust-in-the-midlands

Dudmaston Hall (nr Bridgnorth)

Attingham Park (Shrewsbury)

Benthall Hall (Broseley)

Cardingmill Valley (Church Stretton)

Wenlock Edge

Berrington Hall (Leominster)

Croft Castle and Parkland (Leominster)

Letocetum Roman Baths and Museum (nr Lichfield)

Morville Hall (nr Bridgnorth)

Morville Hall (nr Bridgnorth)

Shugborough Estate (Staffordshire)

Sunnycroft (Telford)

Wightwick Manor and Gardens (Wolverhampton)

Wilderhope Manor (Much Wenlock)

Places to visit outdoors-

£ Wonderland (Telford)- http://wonderlandmidlands.co.uk/

Cheshire Ice Cream Farm (entrance is free but activities are £)- https://www.theicecreamfarm.co.uk/

£ Bridgnorth Railway- http://www.bridgnorthcliffrailway.co.uk/

Ironbridge- https://www.ironbridge.org.uk/

£ Blists Hill (Ironbridge) - https://www.ironbridge.org.uk/explore/blists-hill-victorian-town/

£ Battlefield Falconry Centre (Shrewsbury) - https://battlefieldfalconrycentre.co.uk/

British Ironworks Centre (Oswestry) - https://www.britishironworkcentre.co.uk/

£ Wroxeter Roman City- https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/wroxeter-roman-city/

£ Telford Steam Railway- https://telfordsteamrailway.co.uk/

Ludlow Castle- https://www.ludlowcastle.com/

£ Woodseaves Miniature Railway- http://www.woodseavesminirail.co.uk/

£ Treasure Trials (7 in Shropshire in total)- https://www.treasuretrails.co.uk/things-to-do/shropshire/shrewsbury

Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre (entrance is free so some activities £)- https://www.shropshirehillsdiscoverycentre.co.uk/

Shropshire Wildlife Trust- https://www.shropshirewildlifetrust.org.uk/

Ludlow Market

£ Snailbeach Lead Mine - http://www.shropshiremines.org.uk/snailbeach/page/snailbeach.html

Shropshire Lavendar - https://www.shropshirelavender.co.uk/visit-us/

Shawbury Fruit Farm- https://www.facebook.com/pages/Shawbury-Fruit-Farm/1459068914331637

Stokesay Castle (Craven Arms)- https://www.shropshiretourism.co.uk/castle-and-hill-forts/stokesay-castle.html

£ Long Mountain Pony Trekking - https://www.longmountaincentre.co.uk/pony-trekking#

Bildwas Abbey- https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/buildwas-abbey/

Haughmond Abbey - https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/haughmond-abbey/

Moreton Corbett Castle - https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/moreton-corbet-castle/

Acton Burnell Castle- https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/acton-burnell-castle/

Wenlock Priory - https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/wenlock-priory/

Bewilderwood, Cheshire - https://www.bewilderwood.co.uk/

Places to visit indoors-

Apley Farm Shop and Playbarn (admission is free but activities are £)- https://apleyfarmshop.co.uk/

Percy Throwers Garden Centre (Shrewsbury)- https://www.bluediamond.gg/garden-centre/percy-throwers-garden-centre

Hollybush Garden Centre and Aquaria- https://www.hollybush-garden.com/

£ Enginuity (Ironbridge)- https://www.ironbridge.org.uk/explore/enginuity/

RAF Cosford (parking £)- https://www.rafmuseum.org.uk/cosford/

Rowleys House and Mansion (Shrewsbury)- https://historicengland.org.uk/services-skills/education/educational-images/rowleys-house-and-mansion-shrewsbury-7757

Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre (entrance is free so some activities £)- https://www.shropshirehillsdiscoverycentre.co.uk/

£ Jump in Trampoline Park, Shrewsbury- https://www.gojumpin.com/locations/trampoline-park-shrewsbury

£ Splat n Splodge Pottery painting (Shrewsbury) - https://www.splatnsplodge.co.uk/

£ AMF Bowling Shrewsbury - https://www.amf-bowling.co.uk/shrewsbury

£ Telford Ice Rink - http://www.telfordandwrekinleisure.co.uk/leisureservices/homepage/52/telford_ice_rink

 

Want the FREE downloadable PDF? Download it here: Summer activities shrewsbury 2021 printable

 

Victoria is a photographer based in Shrewsbury- offering maternity, newborn, baby and family and cake smash photography. Want to know more? Get in touch for a chat.

 

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Find Us

Baby Photographer Shrewsbury

Family Photographer Shrewsbury

Cake Smash Photographer Shrewsbury

 

Unit 2, Condover Mews, Shrewsbury, SY5 7BG

 

Victoria J Photography